Iowa State University Alumni Association

Read Class Notes

With ISU Class Notes, YOU make the news.

Submit your latest information about careers, publications, engagements and marriages, births and adoptions, awards, and more via email to Class Notes editor Kate Bruns '99 at OR log in to the ISU Alumni Directory to post your note so that the information will be linked back to your personal profile.

Notes will be refreshed and updated here periodically. Last updated June 29, 2017.

Alumni Bookshelf

Derek S. Oden (PhD ’06 ag history and rural studies) has published “Harvest of Hazards: Family Farming, Accidents, and Expertise in the Corn Belt, 1940-1975” (University of Iowa Press).

Awards & Honors

Sister Ladonna Woerdeman (MS ’79 fam env)(pictured, right) has been selected as the 2017 recipient of the Mother Bartholomew, OSF Lifetime Achievement Award from Cardinal Stritch University, where she earned her bachelor’s degree in home economics in 1967. Woerdeman is a registered dietitian and certified diabetes educator at UnityPoint Health’s Diabetes and Kidney Center in Cedar Rapids.

Urbandale (Iowa) Community Schools administrator Bill Watson (L)(PhD ’09 education) has been named the 2017 recipient of the Character Champion award from Character Counts! Iowa.

Dave Pepper (L)(’85 construction engr) of Barrington, Ill., chairman of Pepper Construction Group, has been inducted into Iowa State University’s Construction Engineering Hall of Fame.

Steve Purcell (’88 marketing)(pictured, right) of Urbandale, Iowa, vice president for Iowa operations at Mediacom, has been named Regional Executive of the Year by Cablefax magazine. Purcell was cited for leading the team that deployed new broadband technology to make Iowa the nation’s first gigabit state.

China Wong (’01 pol sci), owner of Salon Spa W in Des Moines, has been named the 2017 UNI Woman Business Owner of the Year by the Des Moines Business Record. She will be recognized Aug. 10 in a ceremony at the Des Moines Marriott Downtown.

Susan Hatten (’04 apparel merch & marketing), a senior consultant for Holmes Murphy & Associates, has been named the 2017 Meredith Emerging Woman of Influence by the Des Moines Business Record. She will be recognized Aug. 10 in a ceremony at the Des Moines Marriott Downtown.

Des Moines Area Community College administrator Mary Sconiers-Chapman (MS ’77 education)(pictured, right) has been named a Des Moines Business Record Woman of Influence for 2017. She will be recognized Aug. 10 in a ceremony at the Des Moines Marriott Downtown.

William Quick (L)('93 civil engr) received the 2017 Outstanding Service Award by the Kansas Bar Association June 8 in Manhattan. Kan. The award is given to attorneys or judges for their service to the legal profession. Quick is a shareholder at Kansas City Polsinelli.

Stuart O. Nelson (A)(PhD '72 ag engr) was honored with the prestigious Career Excellence Award at the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) International Instrumentation and Measurement Technology Conference in Torino, Italy, May 22-25.

Seth Smith (’02 ag systems technology), a farmer near Nemaha, and his family received the 2017 Iowa Cattlemen’s Association’s Environmental Stewardship Award. Smith’s operation includes rotational grazing, an extended grazing season and infrastructure improvements to promote healthy land and water. Their operation provides beef to the Smokin’ Hereford BBQ restaurant in Storm Lake, which won the 2017 Iowa Cattlemen’s Best burger competition.

Dennis Casey (’64 ag business, MS ’68 poultry breeding, ’70 PhD poultry breeding and genetics) was named the Egg Person of the Year at the Urner Barry Executive Conference and Marketing Seminar in Las Vegas, Nevada held April 30 – May 2. Casey worked with Hy-Line International for more than 30 years serving in the research department, as manager of the company's West Coast distribution organization and as president from 1974 until his retirement in 2006. Casey is the current chairman of the Egg Industry Center Advisory Board.


Kyven Gadson ('14 human sciences)(pictured, above) finished runner-up at 97kg at the 2017 World Team Trials and has earned a spot on the U.S. National Wrestling Team. He recently became the first member of Iowa State head wrestling coach Kevin Dresser's new Cyclone Regional Training Center team.

Michael Mores (A)(’99 advertising) has moved to Overland Park, Kan., to become a workplace consultant for Scott Rice Office Works.

Michael McDowell (’13 ag studies)(pictured, right) has joined Brock Grain Systems as a district manager for the West Region of the U.S.

Brett Cranston (’15 ag and life sciences education, agronomy) is a new sales manager for Kemin Crop Technologies.

Elizabeth Castle (’15 animal science) has been promoted to nutrition associate formulation manager with Kent Nutrition Group Inc.

Bailey Morrell (’14 ag studies) is a new marketing specialist for Certified Angus Beef in Wooster, Ohio.

Bret Spurgin (’11 ag and life sciences education) has accepted a position as an ag educator and FFA adviser at Charles City High School.

Shamus Brown (’08 animal science, ’13 DVM) has been promoted to director of multiplication at Iowa Select Farms.

Jeff Mayes (’02 animal science, ’06 MS ag and life sciences education) has accepted a position as real estate agent for Henry Mayes Company in Austin, Texas.


Corrine Stoffel (’13 animal science) graduated with a doctorate in veterinary medicine from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and will begin her career as a swine herd veterinarian for The Maschoffs LLC.


Read all Class Notes in our online directory


For more information

If you have questions or want to submit a class note, contact Kate Bruns at the ISU Alumni Association for more information.

Phone: (515) 294-2797

© 2017 Iowa State University Alumni Association. All rights reserved.