Iowa State University Alumni Association

Nancy and Richard Degner 2016

Nancy: Food Science ’72
Richard: Ag & Life Sciences Education ’72; MS Ag & Life Sciences Education ’77
Ankeny, Iowa

Nancy Degner, the retired executive director of the Iowa Beef Industry Council, and her husband Richard, the retired CEO of the Iowa Pork Producers Association, have spent their lives and careers advancing animal agriculture, bettering their community, and supporting their beloved alma mater: Iowa State University. The Degners’ long, loyal service to Iowa State has distinguished them as invaluable resources and cherished friends.

Nancy is a member of the Iowa Cattlemen’s Association Hall of Fame who has received, among other honors, the Friends Award from Iowa Family & Consumer Sciences Educators for Progress, the Impact Award from the ISU Department of Food Science and Human Nutrition, and the GEM Award from the Iowa Dietetics Association.

Richard, who received the U.S. Meat Export Federation’s Distinguished Service Award in 2015, is a past member of the ISU Alumni Association Board of Directors. He is also a longtime board member for both the U.S. Pork Center of Excellence and the Coalition to Support Iowa’s Farmers, both of which he has also chaired.

The Degners are members of Gamma Sigma Delta, the honor society for agriculture, and received the organization’s Alumni Award of Merit in 2006.

In 2008, the couple received the George Washington Carver Distinguished Service Award from the ISU College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, and both Richard and Nancy have been active members of the college’s Dean’s Advisory Council. They have been inducted into the ISU Animal Science Hall of Fame. The Degners, who are both ISU Foundation governors, are also loyal and dedicated campus philanthropists. Their gifts have benefitted the College of Human Sciences, the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, and the Alumni Association.

The Degners are ISU Alumni Association life members and sustaining life donors, as well as members of the Order of the Knoll President’s Circle.

© 2017 Iowa State University Alumni Association. All rights reserved.