Iowa State University Alumni Association

Christina Freese-Decker 2016

Finance ’00
Grand Rapids, Mich.

Christina Freese-Decker is the president of Spectrum Health Hospital Group for Spectrum Health, a Michigan not-for-profit health system comprising 12 hospital facilities, including the Helen DeVos Children’s Hospital in Grand Rapids. She was named president in 2014 after 12 years in a variety of administrative and leadership roles within Spectrum Health, including senior vice president and chief strategy officer for the system from Dec. 2013-July 2014.

Freese-Decker has provided transformational leadership to Spectrum, challenging the status quo and adapting the organization’s operations to meet the needs of a changing society and an ever-evolving health care industry. In 2013, she was the recipient of the American College of Healthcare Executives’ Robert S. Hudgens Memorial Award as the young health care executive of the year. She has also been recognized as a “Modern Health Care Up and Comer,” one of Grand Rapids Business Journal’s “50 Most Influential Women in West Michigan,” and one of Crain’s “100 Most Influential Women in Michigan.”

A 2002 master’s graduate of the University of Iowa’s College of Public Health, Freese-Decker has received the University of Iowa Outstanding Young Alumni Award (2014) and the College of Public Health’s Outstanding Young Alumni Award (2010).

Freese-Decker is a fellow of the American College of Healthcare Executives and serves on the ACHE Council of Regents, representing Michigan and northwest Ohio. She is also a member of the Healthcare Financial Management Association, American Medical Group Association, and Society for Healthcare Strategy and Market Development. A former member of the University of Iowa’s Health Management and Policy board, she currently serves on the board of directors for the Michigan Health and Hospital Association, Fifth Third Bank Western Michigan, YMCA of Greater Grand Rapids, and the Grand Rapids Economics Club.

She and her husband, Jason Decker (’00 public relations), are life members of the ISU Alumni Association.

© 2017 Iowa State University Alumni Association. All rights reserved.